Welcome to Cult TV

Cineology ® presents the official CULT TV ® website.  

Join us for the latest on the best in extraordinary fictional television and film from the past, present and future, and analysis on its cultural impacts.

Find out about the amazing facts in fiction, and discover the truth about what's really going on in the World around us...

awardsclose1.jpg
×

Warning

JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 115
JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 64

Events

Places to go and people to see, and here we find out whether it was worth it or not!

by
Tuesday, 31 January 2017

It is with regret that we announce that after just two episodes of its new series, CULT TV ON YOUR RADIO has had to go on hiatus, as the producers seek a new outlet to broadcast the programme from. Hosts alex:g and Justin Allum had brought the show back via Tulip – The Station You Can Really Call Your Own – for the new series, broadcasting fortnightly on Tuesdays from 7.00pm to 9.00pm GMT. It was just about to move to a weekly slot of Thursdays 7-9pm when disaster struck.

You were able, if based in the Spalding and South Holland area of the UK to hear the broadcasts on 107.5 FM, or alternatively from anywhere in the world via the TUNE IN website and App. Unfortunately, the previous management of the station decided to take the entire station off-air, including our programme which was all about extraordinary fictional television and movies being previewed and reviewed.

All is not lost, as the two shows which were recorded are preserved for posterity. You can find the podcast of the first edition, which includes the announcement of the winners of the CULT TV AWARDS 2016, on MIXCLOUD BY CLICKING HERE. The second show contained information on the new series of 24, the revival of Twin Peaks, and also when some of your favourite shows will be starting their runs again in the UK. You can listen to it on MIXCLOUD BY CLICKING HERE.

 

by
Monday, 16 January 2017

The last time Cult TV had the chance to announce its awards via a broadcast was in 2014. Now, three years later, we got to herald the return of a bi-weekly run of CULT TV ON YOUR RADIO at a new home with the results of the 2016 vote, the 23rd annual prize giving. It was broadcast llive between 7.00pm and 9.00pm GMT on Tuesday 3 January 2017 via Tulip Radio. Broadcasting to Spalding and South Holland in Lincolnshire, your usual Awards host alex:g returned, and to ring the nostalgia bells, the co-host was be Justin Allum, a well-known face from the entire run of the Cult TV Festival from 1994 to 2007. You be able to catch the show fortnightly, featuring this dynamic duo. YOU CAN DOWNLOAD THE PODCAST OF THE SHOW BY CLICKING HERE.

The Cult TV Awards trophies from 2007

In fact, aside from alex:g’s wife Sarah and the man himself, Justin was the only other person who was on the production team for the entire 14 years of the Weekender – celebrating extraordinary fictional television in what was a non-stop residential package with a multi-stream programme which always ran from Noon Friday to Noon Monday, in either seaside holiday parks or various plus hotels around the country. You can tune in to the show every other Tuesday at 7.00pm to 9.00pm via 107.5 FM in the Spalding or South Holland area, or via the web by CLICKING HERE for Tune In.

by
Thursday, 12 January 2017

CARD 1 - Click to get the first big Sherlock Bingo sheet to downloadTo add to the excitement of the final episode of the current season of Sherlock this Sunday (15 January 2017, 9.00pm, BBC1), here we present a pair of “Sherlock Bingo Cards” to print copies off and play along. See which common happenings occur in this episode, and then you can do similar with other episodes of the series, even Elementary too, and other versions both classic and new, big screen and small screen. Click the pic opposite to get a big version of the first Bingo card (the other is below in the full article).

We are delighted that Paddy Power Bingo worked with Cult TV to put the idea together, and here we have the chance to add an extra dimension to this story. Make things more competitive by choosing a line, either horizontal or vertical, which you fancy as being the first to be filled in, and then get ready to mark off what happens or what is said. Get other members of your viewing group to take part, and roll a dice to decide the orider which everyone picks their line - each person takes a different one, horizontal or vertical! The winner is the one who gets most hits on their chosen line, or is first to tick off their entire line. Oh, and by the way, the "Deerstalker" and "Pipe" in the centre is for when you see either of these on-screen.

by
Friday, 23 December 2016

Click the pic to get a big version of the Doctor Who Bingo CardTo add to the excitement of the new episode of Doctor Who this Christmas Day (5.45pm, BBC1), here we present a “Doctor Who Bingo Card” to print copies off and play along. See which common happenings occur in this episode, and then you can do similar with other episodes of the series, both classic and new. Click the pic opposite to get a big version of the Bingo card.

We are delighted that Paddy Power Bingo worked with Cult TV to put the idea together, and here we have the chance to add an extra dimension to your viewing pleasure. Make things more competitive by choosing a line, either horizontal or vertical, which you fancy as being the first to be filled in, and then get ready to mark off what happens or what is said. Get other members of your viewing group to take part, and roll a dice to decide the orider which everyone picks their line - each person takes a different one, horizontal or vertical! The winner is the one who gets most hits on their chosen line, or is first to tick off their entire line. Oh, and by the way, the "?" in the centre is for when you see a question mark on screen.

by
Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Voting has just concluded for the Cult TV Awards 2016, with a trio of incentives up for grabs, thanks to Fabulous Films. The First Prize was the entire 90 episodes, over 20 Blu-rays, of KNIGHT RIDER in a superb box set, with a RRP of £149.99 (this was won by Victoria Prince of Taunton). Next, there was THE WATER MARGIN on 8 Blu-ray discs, with a RRP of £79.99 (this was won by Malcolm Carrott of Warwick). Finally, there is the 26-DVD ultimate collection of THE WONDER YEARS, with a RRP of £124.99 (this was won by Diane Gies of Borehamwood). You could choose which prize you won. Following the nominations phase of the Awards, where we asked you who should go in each of the five pigeonholes for each Award, all to be in with a chance to win the coveted gongs, it was up to YOU to decide who the lucky winners would be – and now the counting begins to see who the winners were.

Three stunning prizes up for grabs - all just for voting in the Cult TV Awards 2016

Remember - if you didn’t vote, you can't complain about who has won! Here at Cult TV, we hope you appreciate that the prizes on offer were a small token of our appreciation for the several minutes it could take to cast your choices in the Cult TV Awards 2016. The Voting Form has a total of 26 categories. 13 of these Awards are part of our HALL OF FAME – an ever-expanding pantheon of the most deserving from nearly seven decades of television. The Cult TV Awards have gained an excellent reputation by celebrating the entire history of the small screen, not just the latest “flavours of the month” – every year you help us continue to live up to this billing, and have done so once more.

by
Monday, 24 October 2016

Voting has just concluded in the nominations phase of this year’s Cult TV Awards, in what is now our 23rd year of presenting our appreciation of the best in fictional television, to the talent behind the shows that we make time for more than others. As an incentive to cast your votes, we had one copy of the entirseason 1-4 Box Set of The A-Team, with an RRP of £149.99, and two further prizes of another Stephen J Cannell production on DVD, Baa Baa Black Sheep, all 36 episodes and each with a RRP of £69.99, thanks to Fabulous Films/Fremantle Media Enterprises, available as an incentive to get your ‘thinking caps’ on and make your nominations.

Win big prizes for nominating in the Cult TV Awards 2016

The top five nominations in each category from what you suggested will now be compiled onto the Voting Form, which is the next stage of finding out this year’s eventual winners! For those of you new to this, there are NO premium rate phone lines to call, or even stamps to buy to put your votes on record! With the process being online, and with each form being individually verified to ensure that block votes are discounted, this is the best system going to ensure that we genuinely take the pulse of the UK’s Cult TV appreciators.

by
Monday, 26 September 2016

It’s that time of the year again already, the preparation and process of the Cult TV Awards. First given out in 1994, we are now on our 23rd annual ceremony, celebrating extraordinary fictional television. It’s not for movies, unless they were especially made for television. It’s not for rewarding big screen talent, it’s for those who have made a huge contribution towards the appreciation of what has been achieved on the small screen. As usual, it’s down to YOU to decide not only who wins, but as a first stage the five nominees who make it through each category and onto the voting form.

The prizes you could win for nominating in the Cult TV Awards 2016

Thanks to our good friends at Fabulous Films, our collection of incentives for simply telling us your favourites, at both stages in the process, are magnificent this year. First up is the nomination phase, which will tie in with the release of THE A-TEAM on BLU-RAY. Yes, our star prize is this 22 disc set, with a running time of 4,690 mins approx, and an RRP of £149.99, and it could be yours just for telling us your favourites! Nominations go live on 1 October 2016, so look out for the link and get ready to vote.

by
Monday, 05 January 2015

The Cult TV Awards winners for 2014 have just been announced. Appreciators from the UK of extraordinary fictional television are given the chance every year (since 1994) to nominate and vote for their favourites in a couple of dozen categories, including an expansive ‘Hall of Fame’ as well as a trio of gongs in the infamous ‘Hall of Shame’. It provides an excellent litmus test of where mainstream views cross over, and differ, from those in the fan communities.

Voting in the Cult TV Awards 2014 gave you a chance to win some top prizes

This year gauged from September 2013 to August 2014 inclusive, next year will see the Cult TV Awards Ceremony return as a live event, which everyone can attend.  Part of the Cult TV Festival’s 21st Birthday Party, a one day-and-night convention will share a weekend with “Doomwatch Live” – a similar style of event for extraordinary happenings in the real world. The weekend to mark in your diaries is 6-9 November 2015 at the Park Inn Telford, Shropshire. Full details and booking information can be found at www.culttv.biz

by
Monday, 01 December 2014

Because you demanded it! Returning for one day (and one night) only, it's the Cult TV Festival, celebrating its 21st Birthday in 2015!

Doomwatch Meets Cult TV - The Festival is back for its 21st Birthday

Since the last Cult TV Weekender in 2007, the corridors of television appreciation have remained fallow - nothing has emerged to fill the niche which was the residence of Cult TV and its unique way of celebrating extraordinary fictional television. Dipping the collective toes back in the waters of fandom, the return will be shared over a weekend with hot new show DOOMWATCH - already a year old, and will be celebrating its second anniversary by November 2015.  Two different themes for the Saturday and Sunday, two different pockets of interest, but every possibility that the cosmopolitan groups that appreciate their separate areas will look to crossover and make a weekend of it! Find out more, and book your tickets NOW via www.culttv.biz

by
Sunday, 24 August 2014

Evil Feed - available as Video On DemandCombining the genres of 'torture porn' horror, gross-out comedy and martial arts, “Evil Feed” endeavours to bring something new to the dinner table. Steven (Terry Chen - The 100, House of Cards) murders his father to accelerate his inheritance of the family restaurant. He dreams of making it a huge underground hit by offering 'Tendertainment', where patrons preview their human dinner as it is being pulverised in cage fights.

Steven's flunkies kidnap members of the public with a kung fu pedigree, only this time they might have bitten off more than they can chew when they mess with a feisty, young group of martial artists led by Jenna (Laci J Mailey - Falling Skies). What follows is gory carnage intermingled with sex and the restaurant's house speciality, Dicky Roll. The director's chair is filled by Kimani Ray Smith, stunt co-ordinator on "Watchmen" and Continuum.

by
Thursday, 03 April 2014

Filmed In Supermarionation - the book jumps onto the big screenBack in 2010, we were amazed by the book “Filmed in Supermarionation”. A tightly researched tome, full of exclusive new information and many a correction of long-duplicated errors on the marionette work of Gerry and Sylvia Anderson, now we have something none of us were expecting... the movie of the book!

Network Distributing are the backers of the project, which is bidding to be known as “the definitive documentary about the culturally iconic puppetry and animation technique developed by Gerry and Sylvia, Supermarionation”. Considering the previous attempts at doing so, from the likes of the BBC and Channel 5, it’s fair to say this isn’t too much of a stretch! For the uninitiated, Supermarionation was utilised in all their programmes throughout the 1960s including Stingray, Captain Scarlet and The Mysterons and, most famously, Thunderbirds.

by
Friday, 15 November 2013

An Adventure In Space and Time - Coming to BBC2 on 21 November 2013"An Adventure in Space and Time’" got itself a special premiere BFI screening in London on 12 November 2013. This is perhaps the second most anticipated Doctor Who 50th Anniversary programme.  For me, Steven Moffat ‘s "The Day of the Doctor" will have to be exceptional to beat Mark Gattis’ love story about the creation of Doctor Who.

This biographical movie was the last drama to be shot at the old Television Centre on Wood Lane, with the fifth floor refitted to look like it did in the 1960s. Look out for cameos by a number of old cast members to thrill even the most hard-hearted fan. This review will remain 'spoiler free', but then most of you will be familiar with the story.

by
Sunday, 21 April 2013

The ABCs of Death - catch it in cinemasPerhaps the most bizarre and ambitious anthology movie ever conceived, “The ABCs of Death” features 26 short, alphabet-inspired films by 26 different horror figureheads, including names as internationally diverse as Ben Wheatley (“Kill List”), Ti West (“The House of the Devil”), Xavier Gens (“Frontier(s)”), Srdjan Spasojevic (“A Serbian Film”) and Yoshihiro Nishimura (“Tokyo Gore Police”). It is the idea of producer Ant Thompson.

“26 directors, 26 ways to die”, reads the tagline, but is the concept workable or will it result in an unholy mess? Well to start with, the film certainly contains a huge amount of variety in terms of tone, themes and cinematic styles. As well as standard, live-action tales there are those created via hand-drawn animation and even claymation; some look like they were shot with a mobile phone whilst others appear to have had the help of an entire Hollywood crew despite a spending limit of $5,000.

by
Tuesday, 13 September 2011

To celebrate the release of The Persuaders! 40th Anniversary Edition Blu-ray box set, Network DVD held a launch event on the evening of 10 September, 2011 in Knightsbridge, London. On behalf of Cult TV, my partner and I jumped at the opportunity to attend, not least because none-other than Sir Roger Moore - Lord Brett Sinclair in the series - was the special guest. Even better, legendary film critic Barry Norman had also been announced as the Q&A host!

Appropriately attired (me in a suit, Em in 70s get-up), we turned up at the venue a little early, and like everyone else in the queue stood admiring and snapping the vintage, orangey-gold Aston Martin DBS - Sinclair's awesome car, which has been lovingly restored to its former glory. Moore had taken part in a photo call with the stunning vehicle a little earlier in the day. Cutely placed on the parcel shelf was a Corgi replica of the car, and an original script from one of the episodes.

by
Monday, 10 August 2009

How many noughts in a billion? So asked Richard Smith, the debut speaker at the recent 2009 Glastonbury Symposium. The answer, as accountants will tell you, is that it depends which side of the Atlantic you are on! A British billion is a million million, so that's 1,000,000,000,000. The American billion is a thousand million, 1,000,000,000. Now, feed that potential confusion into how much the British bailout is compared to the American bailout, and the whole world goes mental!

This theme of factual common ground extends to even explaining what the Glastonbury Symposium actually is.  When I said I was going to Glastonbury for the Symposium, despite the inclusion of that clarifying word ‘Symposium’ in my description, I would have puzzled looks and then a comment along the lines of “but the music festival was a few weeks ago”.  To the majority, Glastonbury can ONLY be known for THAT festival.  The clarification that Glastonbury’s Town Hall (actually miles away from where the music-fest takes place) plays host to a whole years-worth of events not connected at all to music is, for some, a leap of logic too far.  Go figure.

by
Saturday, 28 February 2009

“Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.” That old adage comes to mind when considering “Watchmen”, a movie that has been 22 years in the making, and gone through every variant of ‘Development Hell’ ever conceived.  One of the creators removed his name from any version of the ‘format as celluloid’ many years ago.  And now we wonder whether the mainstream will embrace this movie in the same way that the iconic graphic novel has been by comics aficionados since its first appearance in 1986.

A complex, multi-layered mystery adventure, “Watchmen” is set in an alternate 1985 America in which costumed superheroes are part of the fabric of everyday society. The "Doomsday Clock" - which charts the USA's tension with the Soviet Union - is set at five minutes to midnight. When one of his former colleagues is murdered, the determined and disturbed masked vigilante Rorschach sets out to uncover a plot to kill and discredit all past and present superheroes.

by
Saturday, 17 January 2009

Actions Not Words

Held on Saturday, 24 January 2009 - King's Hall, Stoke-on-Trent

Our civil liberties, Constitution and Common Law are under attack and being dismantled.
Governance of our country is being handed over to the European Union and other unelected and unaccountable supranational corporate bodies without our consent.

 

Our economy has been handed over to a transnational corporate and banking oligarchy.

 

Our privacy is being constantly violated and our democracy degraded.

 

Our politics are dominated by a culture of stealth, deceit, treason, duplicity and criminality.

 

Our law is no longer a friend and protector, but increasingly onerous, invasive, disproportionate, corrupted by special interests and institutional gravy trains, and itself illegal and unconstitutional.

by
Saturday, 10 January 2009

BATTLESTAR GALACTICA AUCTION CATALOG IS NOW ONLINE AND READY FOR PURCHASE IN FINAL COUNTDOWN TO THE LIVE AUCTION EVENT 16-18 JANUARY 2009

NBC Universal has also announced a series Of Live Panel Discussions with key Creative Executives from the series during Auction Preview Day, Friday, 16 January.

Final preparations for the live auction event at the Pasadena Convention Centre in California are now underway. The auction catalogue is available for viewing or for purchase at www.battlestarprops.com.

by
Friday, 14 November 2008

Sylvia Anderson will be in Maidenhead, Berkshire on Thursday 20 November 2008 at the Norden Farm Centre for the Arts, talking about working on her shows in the 1960s. The talk starts at 8pm.

Sylvia was co-creator and producer on a host of the most sophisticated series ever created for British Television, including Thunderbirds, Captain Scarlet and the Mysterons, UFO and Space: 1999. This is a unique opportunity to see her discuss her work on these monumental programmes.

by
Friday, 07 November 2008
I’d only done one SF/TV convention abroad before, and that was many years ago. This summer the opportunity appeared to do one again. WeekendTrek ‘08 (12 - 14 September) in Seville, Spain, had been advertised on the Star Trek New Voyages Forums.

Having previously been on the Star Trek – New Voyages (now Star Trek – Phase II) set, it would be a chance to meet up with James Cawley (Kirk) again and a new cast member, as well as catch the World premiere of the final cut of the new episode “Blood and Fire - Part 1”. It was also a chance to visit Spain for the first time as, incredibly, having visited well over ten other countries in Europe, Spain was a significant omission. With adding a few days extra afterwards to explore Seville and nearby Cadiz it seemed a no-brainer.

by
Friday, 22 February 2008
I warn you now this is huge, massive by my standards, get a cup of tea and maybe a Kendle Mint cake before you start reading...


Friday


Registration

We had already received our ‘badges’ in the post. A piece of laminated card with our names/ numbers/ and signing days on. No means of attaching it to ourselves. Luckily I have a mild obsession with lanyards, and was able to supply us both. Most other attendees were using lanyards, many with what looks like a SF Ball official one.

All we had to do at registration was collect our packs. No ticking us off a list, no official welcome. Now, I am biased here as John and I have manned the reg desk at CTV for 3 years but there is so much more they could have down. Told us where things were in the hotel, told us when things were going to start. They could have pointed out the bar at least! Don’t get me wrong, the ladies were very pleasant, but beyond a smile and ‘Here are your packs’ that was all we got.



The Pack

A small but perfectly formed brochure, with info about the weekend and a brief welcome from the organiser. Then a biog for each guest with a black and white picture. The colour cover had a head shot of each of the guests on the front and a floor plan of the hotel on the back. Only 1 and a half pages inside were devoted to adverts. A well presented little book over all.

The other item in the pack was the schedule. Laid out in a similar manner to CTV’s, but with less going on only one side of A4 was required.

We wandered up to the bar, (fortunately we had been to the Carrington before so knew the layout). John had a Guinness and I had a Smirnoff Ice, £6.30. We sat in the well lit bar and perused our brochure and schedule. Other attendees were wandering round, drinking, and chatting. Many were in costume, not the elaborate costumes that come out in the evening, but Star Trek Uniforms and the like.

After our drink we walked though to the dealers room. Easy to find thanks to my map reading skills as there were no signs pointing the way. The only mention the dealers room got in our packs was a small opening times section on the schedule.

The room for the dealers had an open bar, which worried me slightly; if I was a dealer I would not want sticky beer near my merchandise!!

The room although large looked like it would be full. About half the tables were either set up or nearly ready, we will have to revisit later in the weekend to check out the rest. Crawling under a table we found a box of Star Trek figures for £2 each. Some giggling later found us buying one each. I am now the proud owner of a shiny Piccard and John has a Sisko. Both I am sure will reappear later…



Opening Ceremony

The Emcee ‘B’ called the proceedings to order. It was now that we realised how many people obviously go back each year to this event, making it a family affair. There were obvious in jokes that we did not understand but that did not matter. Each guest was brought on to say hello, they all seemed at ease. The organiser also popped on for a brief hello and to officially open the convention.

We were now left with an awkward 90 minutes to fill. Nothing was going on other than the dealers room still open until 1800. Rather than just sit in the bar we wandered off to the beach and watched the sun set, then back to our hotel (we were unfortunately not staying on site) to freshen up for the evening entertainment.

Now we knew that the Gold Ticket cocktail party was going on between 1900 and 2000. So were not surprised when the evening entertainment did not start on time. We sat in the main room waiting and waiting and waiting.

It was obvious why things were running late but that does not mean that those of us who chose not to pay the extra money to buy Gold tickets should just be ignored. SF Ball has been around for 14 years, have they not learnt that the cocktail party overruns? Or was this the first time this happened? Are they not capable of apologising to the people waiting patiently? A very simple ‘Sorry we are running late, the bar is open, we will be with you as soon as possible’ would have done. There was nothing, not even an apology when things did start 50 minutes late.

Very bad!

The entertainment when we got it was excellent but alas far too short. One round of comedy bowling and one session of Geek busters (Blockbusters for the uninitiated) was not enough. It was all finished in about 45 minutes. The production value for this was high; why not make more of it?

The theme for the disco was Glam Rock, and many people had put their glad rags on. The music was great, people danced almost immediately.

Overall I was a little disappointed with the Friday; there was not much indication in the paperwork we were sent that things did not kick off until 1800. We could easily have spent the day doing something else.

If it had not been for my £2 Piccard we would have been very bored waiting for the evening entertainment! Poor Piccard was quite mistreated. And John has the pictures to prove it…


Saturday


The main room had been reset again with rows of chairs. We sat about half way back and slightly to the side and had a good view. Two big screens on either side provided close ups for us and the back drop (three large screens) changed according to which guest was on.

Aaron Douglas (Tyrol from BSG) was first and very entertaining he was too. Little anecdotes from the BSG set and speculation about the 4th series. He is a Sci Fi fan himself so was enthusiastic about his own work as well as other series.

Gil Gerard and Erin Grey (Buck Rogers and Wilma Deering) came on together and although Gerard took the lion share of the talking they were both good. They admitted to still being good friends and through that they sparked off each other.

LeVar Burton was excellent, he spent a good 10 minutes singing the virtues of British cuisine, and highlighting the differences between the US and UK. He was asked some good questions, not just about ST:TNG but also his role in Roots. Hopefully he will get time to talk about his directing tomorrow.

Nichelle Nichols rounded off the days guest talks. A fascinating lady whoes tale of getting the part in Heroes was entertaining. She did have a tendency to wander off during her stories but she remained interesting. There were so many people waiting to ask her questions there was not enough time. She left with a musical good bye which received cheers and whoops from the audience.


SF Ball - The Ball

Can I take back what I said yesterday, how I was a bit disappointed. Tonight was excellent, I was almost determined not to enjoy it, but boy was I blown away.

When we got the final update it said that you could not wear trainers or sports gear to the ball, this immediately got my back up. But I guess over the years the attendees have come to embrace this evening as THE event for them. When we arrived at the hotel (fairly early due to my panic about not being able to walk fast in my heeled boots - I could walk fine) we bought a drink each and sat to watch the other attendees. They were either dressed up in their finest or dressed up in their finest costumes. The theme for the evening was Safari, there were great white hunters, lion and tigers and bears, Oh My. The thought that must have gone into some of the costumes! If there were any people who had not dressed up, I did not see them.

We were called to go through to the main room. We were announced by an amiable elderly gent in a fab red tail coat to the organisers who shook our hands and welcomed us to the ball. The room had been transformed, each table had balloons in stripes and spots, there were Zulu shields and spears and the back ground music was all appropriate. We were shown to our table by ushers dressed as natives.

We had preordered out first bottle of wine which was sat on our table waiting for us. Two members of the crew were wandering the hall with a cameraman and interviewing the more outlandishly dressed attendees. This was being shown on the big screens. They were very entertaining and the standard was that of most outside broadcasts I have seen on the telly.

The guests were all announced too much cheering and dinner began.

The food was very good; we had picked our food from the menu given to us in our final update. (We had been able to make our choices on line after registering).

Our table mates were chatty and many aspects of Sci Fi were discussed.

The cabaret began as we were enjoying our coffee (or tea in my case); Big Howard and Little Howard consisted of a human - Big Howard and a power point cartoon boy - Little Howard. Very well done and despite a couple of technical difficulties went without a hitch.

The costume competition followed, the 20 ish contestants paraded round in the centre of the room as the guests judged them, it was quite obvious the Nichelle Nicholls had appointed herself chief judge! The costumes were very good and inventive. Many were using the Safari theme but there were the obligatory Klingons and a rather good Boba Fett meets Judge Dredd (who got an honourable mention, thanks to Jeremy Bulloch).

The disco began at 2300 and I was barely off the dance floor. Around 0200 we finally began our walk back to our hotel (or totter as I was starting to struggle with the heels!)

Sunday


0730 hours is far too early to be crawling out of bed, not hung over but almost certainly still under the influence we arrived back at the Carrington. We were a little late to catch all of Gil Gerard and Erin Grey’s second talk as we had decided to sign up for next year. This was a very simple affair, a quick form to be filled in and a deposit of £40 secured our places for next year at the Ball and in the hotel. My only complaint with this was the lack of a receipt or any kind of proof of purchase.

Gerard and Grey were in full swing when we joined the audience, as SF Ball does day rates some of the same questions were asked, but it was not a carbon copy of the previous day.

Aaron Douglas was in fine form, he gave an ad hoc quiz asking some quite difficult questions about BSG and giving away signed photos to the winners. He also announced that he had been speaking to one of the BSG team in the US and that the writers strike was on the verge of ending. Reading from some notes he had made he announced when BSG would be back on TV in the US and acknowledged that the downloaders in the room would be watching it the next day.

Nichelle Nichols spent some time talking about how she nearly left Star Trek after one series and how she helped to recruit women and people from ethnic minorities to NASA, quite fascinating; she received several rounds of applause for her work.

Didn’t see LeVar Burtons second talk as I had an appointment with my patriotic side and went back to our hotel for the rugby!


The Auctions

The two auctions were held in the main room at noon on Saturday and Sunday. The Saturday auction was run by Richard Arnold, who also spent about 15 minutes talking about the new Trek film. He mainly auctioned autographed photos from Trek and Stargate. These went for between £10 and £30.

The Sunday auction included other shows; several Doctor Who items were sold.


Closing Ceremony

This was similar to the opening ceremony, all the guests were wheeled out to say goodbye and the prizes for the competitions were destributed.

Aaron Douglas had managed to get a call sheet from the last aired episode of BSG before the writers strike signed by all the principle cast. This was auctioned now as it was expected to reach a lot of money. £750 later it did!

Following a somewhat odd experience in the hotel resturant – where the choice was 3 meat dishes and a veggie option with nuts in it (fine if you are vegetarian and don’t have a nut allergy!!) we made our way back to the main room for the last part of the con.

Fantasy Fortunes followed the rules of Family Fortunes with attendees taking part. This lasted about 30 minutes and was done well, even if some of the answers had us perplexed!

The final disco began with the addition of Karaoke.

So overall a thoughrouly enjoyable weekend, very well organised with amiable and interesting guests. There is no perfect convention as everyone has differant needs from such an event but this will make a fine annual event for us to attend, I hope for many years to come. It will never replace Cult TV for me but it will go a long way to filling the void that Cult has left.

denizli escort denizli escort